Monday, January 10, 2011

Moooooooooonera!!! (Monera) - Christopher Nah


1. Most organisms are prokaryotic (that is, lacking nuclei and organelles and most of their cell walls are made of peptidoglycan - polymer consisting of sugars and amino acids that forms a mesh-like layer outside the plasma membrane of bacteria. The exceptions are the archaebacteria.)

2. This kingdom is divided into three domains, Archaea (Three RNA polymerases - enzyme that produces RNA - like eukaryotes. They have cell walls that lack peptidoglycan and have membranes that enclose lipids with hydrocarbons rather than fatty acids - not a bilayer. Lipids in the membranes of archaea are unique and contain ether linkages between the glycerol backbones rather than ester linkages.) and Bacteria (Only one RNA polymerase), with Eukaryote as the third domain.

3. Most utilize flagella for movement - Flagellum is a tail-like projection that projection that protrudes from the cell body of certain prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells, and functions in locomotion.


These two microorganisms also differ in genetic and biochemical ways. Only within the last couple of decades, archaea were recognized as a distinct domain of life. They are extremophiles, meaning they thrive in physically or geochemically extreme conditions. They have similar ecological roles as bacteria. Both of these organisms react to various antibiotics in a different way.

5. Some make their own food (autotrophic); others can't make their own food (heterotrophic)

Examples of Monera:

Bacteria, blue-green bacteria (cyanobacteria)

Read more:

Thank you for reading :D

You may comment if anything is unclear. :)

-Christopher Nah

No comments:

Post a Comment